100 Years of History

100 Years of IAAP
Presidents of IAAP


100 Years of IAAP

The International Association of Applied Psychology (IAAP) was officially founded in 1920 in Geneva as the first international academic society within the field of psychology. It was initially called Association Internationale de Psychotechnique in French.

Some years later, during its congress, which took place in Paris, in 1953, Applied Psychology was added to the Association’s original name. And the name officially became in English the International Association of Applied Psychology in London in 1955.

Presidents of IAAP 

Among the 16 first Presidents of IAAP, let us note that nine of them are European, five came from the USA and Canada, and one came from Australia. Only two were women, both from France - Claude Lévy-Leboyer became President in 1982, after 62 years of male leadership. Christine Roland-Lévy became President of IAAP, as the second woman President, some 28 years later.

Other Presidents of note:

Edouard Claparède: the first President lead IAAP for 20 years, from 1920 to 1940 when he passed away.

Henri Piéron: the second President of IAAP, from 1947 to 1953, was also the President of the International Union of Psychological Science from its beginning; 1951 to 1954, overlapping with his time as IAAP President for two years.

Clifford B. Frisby: the third President of IAAP, was the first English speaking President and is the one who introduced the name of the International Association of Applied Psychology in English in 1955.

Edwin A. Fleishman: 6th President (1974-1982), became President of IAAP after being the President of the Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology, SIOP (1973-1974).


International Congress of Applied Psycholgy and Regional Meetings